WhatsApp is reportedly extending the time limit users have before they can delete a sent message. Currently, any message you send on WhatsApp can only be deleted for everyone for a fixed amount of time. Once that limit is exceeded, users can no longer delete messages for all parties.
Currently the limit is 1 hour and 8 minutes, but a new report from WABetaInfo suggests that WhatsApp could soon change that number to two days and 12 hours, or 2 and a half days. This would give users much more time to delete messages sent in various personal and group chats.
Once a message is deleted, WhatsApp will display the same “This message was deleted” card instead.
The report adds that the change was detected in WhatsApp Beta version 2.22.410 and could later reach the stable version of the application. currently, not yet available, even for beta testers
It is not the first time that the time limit has changed
WhatsApp has altered the time limit to delete a message before. When the ability to delete messages for all parties was introduced, the limit was only seven minutes, after which users could only delete messages from their own chats.
The limit was changed to one hour in 2018, and late last year WhatsApp planned to increase the limit to seven days, according to the report, however that plan was apparently dropped. It remains to be seen if the 2-day, 12-hour limit sticks or if we see more changes to the limit before the change is finalized in the stable release.
WhatsApp Communities gets a new introductory screen
WhatsApp is also adding a new introductory screen for its new communities feature that will allow group admins to add groups they manage to one place for quick access. With Communities, users will also be able to send announcements to all groups and more.