Social media allows us to interact with people globally, but as more and more people log onto the internet, online privacy and security have become top concerns. From cyberbullying to social media and digital identity, social media can be used as a bullying tool.
On the occasion of Safer Internet Day, we are listing all the important security features on two major social media platforms: Instagram and YouTube. (See our recent article on all the features that help you feel safer on Twitter).
Take a break‘: Instagram has announced a new feature called ‘Take a break‘ in several countries, including India. Take a Break will alert users scrolling through Instagram to periodically take breaks from the platform and focus on other things. The platform will also alert users of the new inclusion with a notification. Instagram also features expert-backed tips to help you reflect and reset. To inform teens about this feature, Instagram displays notifications suggesting people turn on these reminders.
Limits: This feature automatically hides comments and DM requests from people who don’t follow you or who recently started following you. Limits will allow you to hear more from your longtime followers, while limiting contact from people who might be accessing your account just to target you. You can easily activate this feature by going to your privacy settings.
control comments: This feature removes any offensive words and phrases and bullying comments. Instagram also allows you to create your own list of words or emojis that you don’t want to see in the comments section. You can enable this by going to “Filters” in the Comment Controls section.
hidden words: Tired of receiving unwanted DMs? Instagram’s Hidden Words feature allows you to filter out any unwanted, spammy, or abusive DM requests. It also automatically filters offensive words, phrases, and emojis into a hidden folder.
Control of sensitive content: In an attempt to curb hate speech, bullying, and harmful content on the platform, Instagram limits the visibility of certain posts that the community has flagged as containing sensitive content.
To restrict: Once Restrict is enabled, comments on your posts from a person you’ve restricted will only be visible to that person. You will not receive any feedback notifications from a restricted account.
Manage similar counts: Like counts can be problematic for some, Instagram has given the option to hide like counts on all posts you see in your feed, and you can do this by visiting the new Posts section in Settings. You’ll also have the option to hide like counts on your own posts, so others can’t see how many likes your posts get, and you can do this on a post-by-post basis.
Support requests: This is a place where you can stay up to date on reports filed and follow updates on any violations for your account. This is intended to increase transparency by ensuring that everyone has access to view their reports and violations. This also gives people a unique place to appeal decisions they disagree with in an effort to ensure our processes are fair.
Block: You can block accounts you don’t want to interact with. The account you blocked will not be able to see or comment on your posts, Stories, Reels, and live streams. Notably, Instagram doesn’t tell people when they’ve been blocked or who blocked them, and you can unblock an account at any time.
More options for parents with children and adolescents : YouTube offers personalized options for your family. For example, if you’re a parent or caregiver, YouTube offers options and controls to help you decide what kind of YouTube experience is best for your child. The company launched YouTube Kids to create a safer environment for children to explore their interests and curiosities, while giving parents the tools to personalize the experience.
For teens, YouTube has monitored the experience that the company disables a number of features normally available on YouTube, such as comments and live chat, as well as the ability to create a channel, upload content, and make purchases.
Take a break– If you spend too much time on YouTube and want to disconnect for a while, the “Bedtime” or “Take a break” feature, located in your Settings, can tell you to stop watching videos for the day, either during or after. video playback
Manage your data: This YouTube feature allows you to easily browse, delete or pause your search or playback history. Any videos removed from your history will no longer influence your recommendations, and queries you’ve removed will no longer show up in your search bar as your suggestion history.
incognito mode: Incognito mode allows you to browse privately in a session so that your account’s search and viewing history does not carry over to your signed-in account’s search and viewing history.
Two step verification– You need to turn on two-step verification, check the strength of your passwords, and manage which third-party apps have access to your account data.