Here are 13 tips to stay safe and secure on Twitter

0
86


Twitter allows you to interact with anyone in the world, but it has also become a dangerous place full of harassment and abuse. This can involve anything from threats and spamming to account hacking and worse. Here are some of the features that can help you feel more confident while participating in the conversation on the microblogging service.

Two Factor Authentication (2FA)

Two-factor authentication refers to adding an extra layer of security to your account. When you enable this feature, you will be prompted to provide an additional security code or key, along with your password, when signing in to ensure that only you can access your account.
Steps to activate two-factor authentication:

#In the side menu of your profile, click More, then click Settings & Privacy.

#Click Security & Account Access, then click Security.

#Click Two-Factor Authentication and choose from three authentication methods: Text Message, Authenticator App, or Security Key.

Enable password reset protection

If you enable password reset protection, Twitter will ask you to confirm your email address or phone number if you ever decide to reset your password. Use a strong password that you won’t use on other websites. This feature is useful in case your account gets hacked, the hacker will not be able to lock you out of your account. This is how you can enable password reset protection.

#Go to Settings and privacy

#Choose Security and account access and activate it

Beware of suspicious messages

Twitter will never ask you to log in to a non-Twitter website, provide your password via email, direct message, reply, or download anything. Never open an attachment or install any software from an email claiming to be from Twitter; It is not. Most importantly, please do not provide your username and password to third parties, and always make sure you are on the official website before entering your login information.

Protected Tweets

In a bid to reduce the burden on people facing unwanted interactions, Twitter has launched Protected Tweets. You can choose to protect your tweets so that only your followers can see and interact with them.
To protect your tweets:

#In the side menu of your profile, click More, then click Settings & Privacy

#Click Privacy & Security, then click Audience & Tagging

#Check the box next to Protect your Tweets

#At any time, you can unprotect your Tweets by following the same steps

share location

Twitter allows you to include your location in individual tweets and on your profile. As a security practice, you should avoid sharing information that could identify your home or office address, or the school your children attend. To change your location settings:

#Go to Settings & Privacy from your profile menu, then click Privacy & Security

#Under Off-Twitter Data Sharing and Activity, go to Location Information

#Click Add location information to your tweets

#If the box is checked, that means your location information attached to your Tweets is turned on. To disable Tweet location, uncheck the box.

Turn off photo tagging

To minimize sharing your name with the public, you can disable a feature that allows anyone to tag you in a photo, or limit tagging to only those you follow. This can be found at:

#Go to Settings and privacy

#Click Privacy and Security

#Now, go to Audience & Tagging and turn off photo tagging.

Stop following

If you’re no longer interested in a certain account’s tweets, or they bother you, you can simply unfollow them. To unfollow an account:

#Open your profile.

#At the top right, you will see the ‘Following’ button. When you hover over it, it will ask you to unfollow. Click the button.

remove followers

If you don’t want a certain account to follow you, you can simply remove it from your follower list without blocking it. To remove a follower

#Go to your list of followers

#Click the three dots icon next to the ‘Following’ button against the account you want to delete

#From the menu, click ‘Remove this follower’ and confirm by clicking ‘Remove’ again.

Stop unnecessary DMs

Direct messaging (DM) settings allow you to filter out spam and limit messages from people you don’t follow.

If the setting is off, you will only receive messages from people you follow. You can also toggle the quality filter to exclude low-quality or potentially spammy direct messages.

hide answers

Hide Replies features let you control who gets visibility into your conversations. If you think a reply is spam and detracts from the conversation, you can click the reply and hide it. It should be noted that the responses are not deleted, but are placed behind an additional click. While everyone can see the Tweet and conversation, depending on your settings, not everyone will be able to reply.

Be quiet

Twitter allows you to restrict Tweets from certain accounts without unfollowing or blocking them by muting these accounts. You can still follow these accounts, but you won’t see their Tweets on your timeline. Also use Advanced Mute to mute particular words, conversations, phrases, usernames, emojis, or hashtags. This is how you can mute an account:

#Open your profile and click the three dots icon on the top right.

#From the menu, click ‘Mute @username’. Confirm by clicking ‘Mute’ again.

Block

You can also choose to restrict certain accounts by blocking them. Accounts you have blocked will not be able to contact you, see your Tweets, or follow you. To block an account:

# Open your profile and click the three dots icon in the top right corner.

# In the menu, click ‘Block @username’. Confirm by clicking ‘Lock’ again.

Report

If an account is bothering you with unwanted content or spam, you can choose to report it. Reported profiles will be monitored by the Twitter team on a recurring basis. Here’s how to report an account:
# Open your profile (the account you want to report) and click the three dots icon in the top right corner.

# In the menu, click ‘Report @username’.

#The page will take you to identify a problem in seven different topics, choose the one that correctly indicates the one that concerns you and confirm.

.



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here