Cheteshwar Pujara included in Saurashtra’s squad for the Ranji Trophy


Looking for big runs, veteran Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara joined Saurashtra’s squad for the Ranji Trophy on Tuesday from 10 February.

Pujara has been named in the 21-member squad, announced by the Saurashtra Cricket Association.

Saurashtra, which is placed in the Elite D group, plays its league games in Ahmedabad.

Saurashtra is placed alongside the national heavyweights and 41-time champions from Ranji Mumbai, Odisha and Goa.

Unsurprisingly, the selectors have named seasoned activist and prolific left-arm sprinter Jaydev Unadkat as skipper.

The team is currently training at the SCA Stadium here and will arrive in Ahmedabad on Thursday night.

Pacer Chetan Sakariya, who made his mark in the IPL, has also been named to the squad.

Another seasoned activist, Sheldon Jackson, along with regulars Arpit Vasavada, Kamlesh Makwana, Chirag Jani, Prerak Mankad, young stump Harvik Desai and key player Dharmendrasinh Jadeja have been part of the team.

The Ranji Trophy, which was not held last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, was scheduled to start on January 13, but was postponed due to a third wave of infections across the country.

It will now take place in two phases, with the first phase starting Thursday through March 15 in various locations around the country.

The main national event takes a break during the IPL and resumes from May 30 to June 26.

Team: Jaydev Unadkat (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Chirag Jani, Kamlesh Makwana, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Chetan Sakariya, Prerak Mankad, Vishvarajsinh Jadeja, Harvik Desai, Kevin Jivrajani, Kushang Patel, Jay Chauhan, Samarth Vyas, Parthkumar Bhut , Yuvrajsinh Chudasama, Devang Karamta, Snell Patel, Kishan Parmar, and Aditya Jadeja.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here